Honoring Exceptional Service to the Nation in Science and Technology

The Vannevar Bush Award is awarded annually to truly exceptional lifelong leaders in science and technology, who have made substantial contributions to the welfare of the United States through public service activities in science, technology, and public policy. Recent recipients include: Bruce Alberts, Editor-in-Chief, Science Magazine; Mildred Dresselhaus, Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Norman Augustine, former Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board, Lockheed Martin Corporation.

For more information and to submit nominations for this award, visit www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/bush.jsp.

Honoring Service in Public Understanding of Science and Engineering

The National Science Board (NSB) Public Service Award honors individuals and groups who have made substantial contributions to increasing public understanding of science and engineering in the United States. These contributions may be in a wide variety of areas that have the potential of contributing to public understanding of and appreciation for science and engineering – including mass media, education and/or training programs, entertainment, etc. Recipients of the NSB Public Service Award include NUMB3RS, the CBS television drama series; Ira Flatow, Host and Executive Producer of NPR”s “Science Friday”; Alfred P. Sloan Foundation; Bill Nye The Science Guy; and NOVA, the PBS television series.

For more information and to submit nominations for this award, visit www.nsf.gov/nsb/awards/public.jsp.