The Fieldbus Foundation ( announced the 2006 recipients of the James O. Gray Fieldbus Foundation Educational Scholarship. This program, which honors the memory of James (Jim) O. Gray, a long-time leader in the Fieldbus Foundation who passed away in 2002, establishes a perpetual $250,000 endowment fund providing awards to eligible students studying industrial automation.

The 2006 scholarship recipients include:

Dinh Quang Lam, Singapore Polytechnic, Singapore: A native of Vietnam, Dinh will graduate from Singapore Polytechnic in 2006 with degree in Electrical and Computer Control Engineering. His educational background includes the use of fieldbus technology in pilot plant applications. In recognition of his outstanding academic performance, Dinh has been on Singapore Polytechnic’s Director’s Honor Roll for two consecutive years. He is seeking a career in the instrumentation and control industry and plans to attend a university in Singapore to obtain an Electrical Engineering degree.

Gias Ahmed, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT), Calgary,
Alberta, Canada: Enrolled in the Industrial Instrumentation Technology program at the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT), Gias Ahmed has more than 13 years of experience working in Bangladesh’s natural gas transmission, distribution and utility industries. He has been involved with computerized natural gas metering systems and is skilled in the installation, commissioning, and maintenance of gas regulating and metering equipment. Married and a father of two, Gias hopes to expand his knowledge of industrial instrumentation technology by attending SAIT.

Shawn Loonam, Lee College, Baytown, Texas: As president of Lee College’s ISA Student Section, Shawn has demonstrated a strong interest in instrumentation and control technology. He is studying for an Associate of Applied Science degree and believes fieldbus technology is becoming the preferred means of communications in the instrumentation field. In addition to his academic pursuits, Shawn serves as vice president of public relations and a senator for Phi Theta Kappa — the honors society for two-year colleges. The organization develops leadership in its members and performs service to the community.