The Fieldbus Foundation announced the 2011-2012 recipients of the James O. Gray-Fieldbus Foundation Scholarship Fund. The program honors the memory of James (Jim) O. Gray, a long-time leader in the Fieldbus Foundation who died in 2002. It establishes a perpetual $250,000 endowment fund providing scholarships to students seeking a career in the industrial automation profession.

The 2011-2012 scholarship recipients are:

Mr. Wataru Futagoishi, Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan, is a first-year student in master”s courses within Waseda University”s Department of Applied Mechanics. He is currently studying corrosion diagnostics with Coriolis mass flowmeters. He will graduate in March 2013.

Ms. Thunyaporn Sathaporn, King Mongkut”s Institute of Technology Ladkrabang (KMITL), Bangkok, Thailand, is a junior majoring in Automation Engineering at KMITL. She is currently studying topics such as PID control and sequence control systems, as well as the design and configuration of fieldbus control strategies in industrial operations.

Mr. Gang Zhao, SAIT Polytechnic, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, is enrolled in his second year within the Instrumentation Engineering Technology program at SAIT Polytechnic. Originally from China, he completed his bachelor’s degree in physics in 1983 and went on to work for a power supply company. He is pursuing his interest in instrumentation to gain additional knowledge and professional opportunities related to FOUNDATION fieldbus technology.

“Each year, the James O. Gray-Fieldbus Foundation Scholarship Fund recognizes a group of deserving students involved in the field of instrumentation and industrial automation, said Fieldbus Foundation President and CEO Rich Timoney in a prepared statement. “This unique scholarship was established with the support of control technology stakeholders around the world, whose efforts will help maintain a strong and vibrant control industry.”

Since 2003, the James O. Gray-Fieldbus Foundation Scholarship program has funded 26 educational scholarships for students around the world.?

For more information on each scholarship recipient, click here.
For information on the scholarship program visit